Goodbyes Galore and the Drinking Gauntlet

I said my goodbyes to the middle schoolers last week. I said my goodbyes to the elementary schoolers on Wednesday. I said my goodbyes to various people, including the owners of a restaurant I used to frequent. And, I’ve said goodbye to my daily life as I’ve known it.

These transition periods are totally, fundamentally different than any other time. I have to focus on goodbyes and giving things away rather than when I’m going to casually hang out with someone. Every meeting might be my last. While I say to myself that I’ll see everyone again someday, more so than any other time in my life, I’m not sure that that’s true. Even most of my college friends stayed in the same place. If I do see these people again, it will take an effort.

With goodbyes also comes drinking. Lots and lots of drinking. Next Monday is a drinking party with my current teachers. Tuesday is a potential drinking / barbeque with friends. Thursday is a drinking party with a former group of English learners. Friday is with a bunch of parents of my now ex-students. Saturday is with a handful of ex-coworkers. The Monday after that is another party with people from the Board of Education.

My liver won’t thank me.

Less than two weeks and I’ll be back home in the states. Surreal. 寂しい。

What're ya thinkin'?

