The First Goodbye

sayounaraion

Only post-2011 Earthquake kids would understand.

初めてのさようなら

And like all things, good and bad, my time at the Shichikashuku Junior High School has come to an end.

The Day

The last day began like any other. Well, aside from the fact that I only had one class, and it was during the last period of the day. And the fact that I went to the pool with the kids during the third period. But aside from those things… Oh, and it was a Wednesday, and I tend to go to the Junior High School on Tuesdays and Thursdays… But all that aside, it still began roughly the same.

I woke up. Took a shower. Had breakfast. Went to school. Said “hi” to kids. Sat at my desk. Browsed the internet and studied while I waited for something to happen.

After the pool, we had lunch. Oh, yeah, so the part of town where the school lunches are made had a water problem so everyone had to bring their own lunch. That was different. But who’s asking?

After lunch, we had the final class.

Two students came to get me from the teacher’s room. “失礼します。3年のだれだれです。ジョシュア先生の用があってきました。Joshua-sensei, come with us.” They led me into the lunchroom for my final class.

For my final class, I took it rather plainly and had them write letters for the new ALT coming in. I try not to dwell too long on myself, unless I’m writing. If I could, I’d just disappear without so much as a goodbye, but that’s not really the Japanese way. So I took the next best step and made my final class about the new guy. Bridges, ends and beginnings, and all that.

Then, I had to give a speech. I actually spent a decent amount of time on it. The Japanese isn’t perfect, but it’s good enough. It’s written very similar to how I talk, too. When I was asking for edits, “I could change it, but it would lose your voice,” was the response I got. So, aside from a few words 初め->初めて, 体が崩れちゃって->体がついていかない, it’s basically unchanged.

I got up, stood in front of the whole school, opened up the google doc on my phone, and speeched away.

The Speech

Hello.

三年経ったのか?信じられないな。あっという間ですね。

初めて会ったとき、生徒の皆さんは小学生でしたね。げんき、すなお、ゆうら、りな、ゆうま、りゅうき、はるき、じゅり・・・みんなは湯小の工藤先生の授業で会いましたね。ゆうや、わたる、りょうと、井上かな先生の授業でしたね。そして、あきと、はるな、そうた、みやと、がく、あおい、みさき、ゆい、いずみ、関小の実先生と一緒に授業しましたね。うるう、あき、こうすけ、さき、ゆうき、れな、りお、はると、久美子先生の教室で英語をしました。いいざわゆいを覚えていますか?はな、りんたろう、さくら、りせ、しょうご先生との授業をしましたっけ?

まあ、僕は帰る前に、一言を残しておきたいです。

それは、英語で、“Where there’s a will, there’s a way.” どうやって説明しようか。直訳したら、「意志があることろに、道がある」。つまり、「志があったら、道がひらく」。似ている日本語のことわざだったら、「精神一到何事かならざらん」。まあ、簡単に言うと「成せば成る」ですね。

僕は小学生の時代、ゲームデザイナーという仕事をやりたかったんです。給食を食べ終わったら、友達とノートを使って、ゲームのアイデアを書きました。そして、よくそんなことについて話しました。でも、ゲーム作るのツールやソフトに触れたとき、すぐ諦めてしまいました。使いにくくて無理だと思いました。

やっぱり、子供のころ、いろいろなことは「ムリ」だと思いました。算数が嫌いで、算数はムリ!本を読むのはみんなより遅かったから、本はムリ!スポーツをやったらすぐ体がついていかないから、スポーツはムリ!9年生のとき(日本の中学校の3年生のとき)、陸上部に入って、よく練習して、結果とか出なくて、陸上もムリ!なんでもムリ・・・でした。

もちろん、日本語もムリでした。アメリカで漢字を見たら、不思議だなと思いました。日本人や中国人しかわからないはずでしょう!アメリカ人の僕にはムリだ!と思いました。

そのときから、今までの間、何が変わったでしょうか?世界のルールが変わった?そうかなぁ。数学や陸上、日本語が簡単になっちゃったか?そうではないでしょう!僕に言わせれば、世界じゃなくて、自分の見方や態度が変わったんです。

最初からわかるはずがなく、何回失敗してもいいです。今までのやり方がダメだったら、ほかの方法を調べてみて、諦めず進むことです。一人じゃなくて、教えてくれる人や助ける人がたくさんいます。

ムリという言葉は壁です。わからないということはスタートです。これから。わかるようになる。

前の僕はゲーム開発の仕事をやめました。でも、15歳の僕は、今の僕じゃないだと思います。別人かなぁ。前の僕はできないと思ったけど、今の僕はできます。

今、できないことはあるでしょう。でも、ず~っとできないわけがありません。成せば成る。

Where there’s a will, there’s a way. 今、やりたいことはあったら、やってみてください!今、できなければ、ほかのやり方を探してみてください。

今の君たちは素晴らしい人です。けど、将来の君たちは、どんな素晴らしい人になるか、僕は楽しみにしています。

じゃあ、この三年間、本当にありがとうございました。Thank you so much! お世話になりました。

The End

After that, I sat and watched a video with my students, about me. Always good for the narcissist in me. Then they handed me a bouquet as big as my body and a booklet of thank yous.

The students then walked to the doorway, put their hands into an arch, and I walked out to some j-rock.

And, like that, three years at the Junior High School came to an end.

. . .

I mean, I still have to go back to help with the English speech contest students next week and the week after that, but, really, who’s counting?

What're ya thinkin'?

