Golden Week

ゴールデンウィーク

Like Shonen Jump, I’m off next week!

Not just Shonen Jump, of course. Just about every big business takes Golden Week off. Today (Showa Day) and next week’s Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday are all off.

I took Monday off for a nice 7-day break. My girlfriend and I decided to go to Taiwan, as between Taiwan and Thailand (we love the たいs), the price increase compared to a normal trip was smaller for Taiwan.

Which was great, because it meant that I could practice my Chinese which I haven’t really touched in almost half a decade. But, like riding a bicycle, it’s coming back pretty quickly. Between listening to ChineseClass101 and spending a chunk of time on Memrise every day, I feel like I can grasp the basics again. And, plainly, it’s fun to study again. 我喜欢学中文!!

While I had only planned on studying in the time leading up to going to Taiwan, I’m feeling that spirit of learning Chinese coming back. Now the big problem isn’t learning another language per se, but that I should probably be focusing on game development, as that has the biggest impact on the near future for me.

In any case, I fly out to Taiwan tonight. Wish me luck!

One thought on “Golden Week

  1. Pingback: Golden Week a cluster of holidays from late April to early May | From guestwriters

What're ya thinkin'?

