Oh, is it Friday again?

Hey y’all. It’s Friday again. Did you notice? TGIF and all that!

Just had the graduation ceremony for the elementary school today. I gave a little speech in front of everyone like every teacher did, except this time I was able to say something completely coherent. My road to Japanese fluency is… well, I’m not sure. I’m standing in a field somewhere. There are many roads ahead of me. Language, certainly, isn’t conducive to learning in a straight line.

This Tuesday I came down with 胃腸炎, which dictionaries tell me means “gastroenteritis” and symptoms tell me means pain and a high fever and vomit and diarrhea. I took vacation time to go home early because it’s hard to use sick leave in Japan. But I did get better. Still taking medicine, but I feel right as rain.

Speaking of Tuesday, on Tuesday and Wednesday this week the 1st and 2nd years (U.S. 7th and 8th graders) at the Junior High School played Shichikashuku II. The reception was super warm in spite of playing in a cold room on slow computers. By the end of Wednesday (we only got two days to play the game this year), most of the kids were asking for a copy of the game. They only managed to reach the end of Chapter 2, so there’s still a lot of game in front of them (the game is 6 chapters long + post-game content). Either I need to figure out how to write the game to a CD, or buy a lot of USB drives. 😛

Game’s not done, but it’s really close. I have 25 more English Gates to put in the game (maybe a few more?), a few tiny areas to finish, flavor text to add, and… well, I’ll just show a cutout from my word document:

Remainder Work

This is it. Almost done with version 1.00.

Anywho, this weekend two friends are coming down from Kobe for skiing and snowboarding, and well, there’s no snow. Well, not around here. Actually, I can still find a tiny mound in my neighborhood, but that’s not enough. We will definitely be able to snowboard this weekend, but it’ll be a drive.

So, that’s the past week. Next week on Thursday the school year ends. On Friday and Monday and Tuesday are various parties to say goodbye and good luck to all the leaving teachers. It’ll be sad.

OK, it’s 4:15. I gotta go. Party tonight. Pick friend up from the airport tomorrow morning.

See y’all space cowboys and cowgirls on the flipside.

What're ya thinkin'?

