The Finish Line Approaches

I sit at my desk on a Friday, awake, for the first time in weeks.

I got some decent sleep last night. Yesterday I had a headache and some pain in my eyes when I moved them. The flu has been going around, so there was some worry. But, eh, sleep does the body good. 久しぶり to an 8 hour sleep.

On Wednesday night I finished uploading a test version of “Shichikashuku II” to mediafire. On Thursday morning I sent an email out to more than two dozen volunteers to help test the game. By the evening, I’d already received some feedback. I like the fact that I can step away from the game and work on it is getting done in some form.

But, I can’t stop. Last night was good. Hopefully tonight is too. Regardless, the 3rd year students will probably play the game this Monday. That’s only 2-3 days left of work before they get a copy.

One thing I can rest easy about: Even if they played the current version, it would probably take a week of classtime minimum to complete the game. My last runthrough of the game, without completing all the sidequests or getting all the characters, took about 5 hours.

One thing that nags at me: I still have 4 more students to implement, all 4 of them 3rd year students. It would be a shame if they played and couldn’t recruit themselves in the game. Therefore, my focus this weekend is on making them playable.

As for the rest of the students, they’ll probably be playing mid-March, which gives me a lot of time to perfect the content and make some good updates. Every day I work on the post-game content, bit-by-bit. I hope the game will be fully done around mid-March, but at this point, I’m going to take things a little more slowly.

The game is in a good state. But even more than that, it’s in the hands of other people. And hopefully, being enjoyed.

What're ya thinkin'?

