Daily Goals

Sorry. Not a long post here today.

I’ve been talking about Shichikashuku 2, my next game. It comes out in about 40 days, whether I want it to or not. It’s terrifying. Not paralyzing fear, but the reasonable kind of worry that comes the morning of a test when you haven’t studied. The kind that forces you into action. And, on occasion, stresses.

This is, on a personal level, perhaps similar to the crunch time faced by video game studios. That’s maybe an exaggeration. I haven’t yet ordered take out and stayed up all night working.

For the past month or so, I’ve been setting these half month goals. Implement xxxx character. Create xxxx area. Script xxxx cutscene. Follow the plan. It’s been good, and those moments that I finish goals before their deadline, I’m pretty happy. But, since I usually have a group of 50 things to do every two week period, some inevitably fall through the cracks.

Maybe I shouldn’t make such a long list of things per month? But then, these aren’t unreasonable things. Some of them are pretty simple as long as I get down and do it.

All this thinking led me back to an old staple: daily goals. Much stricter in the completion of, but much more reasonable in amount. That is, I can’t go to sleep until I finish the daily goals. But, I only have two or three or five things on there. So, it’s easier to focus on what I need to do.

Last night I didn’t get to sleep until about 1 am completing goals. Bad for my sleep and yet I managed to complete some elusive tasks. While I can’t keep up that pace, if I did, the game could be done in less than a month. Probably. It’s all speculation. But the unknowns are getting fewer and far-er between.

Of the goals that were supposed to be done by 1/15, only two remain. They’ll get done today. Then, I’ll be “on track”. It’s a good feeling.

With the game as my primary focus, I might have smaller posts here for the next month and a half. But they’re coming! No worries.

What're ya thinkin'?

