Journal Entry: August 5, 2013

The first result when I type in "2013年8月5日" in Google.

The first result when I type in “2013年8月5日” in Google.

2013年8月5日の日記

You ready for the random musings of someone who’d just arrived in Japan to start a new part of their life? Neither am I.

“Colombusing” My Own Journal

I just uncovered my journal from my initial days in Japan and what a delight it was to read. It’s mostly random thoughts: whatever came to my head at the time, not unlike my current writing. But it’s almost entirely uneditted. I did remove some incriminating sentences and changed some names for privacy’s sake, so you’ll have to forgive me on that part.

For the next two weeks, I’ll be releasing an entry each day from Monday to Thursday, for a total of eight entries. Some (like today’s) are really short while others (like tomorrow’s) have some girth. Hope you enjoy them!

Background Info

I’d flown into Japan on August 4th, 2013, late in the afternoon. Arriving in Tokyo, all JETs have to go to a 3-day long orientation. We stayed at a nice hotel in Shinjuku. My roommates were two great guys from the American n

ortheast also going to Tohoku, the northeast of Japan. However, they were going to Akita. At the time, I found that nobody I knew was going to be anywhere near where I was living.

Well, onto the journal:

JAPAN JOURNAL

6:40 am – So, I’m finally back in Japan. I don’t have much time right now, as I have breakfast in 20 minutes or so (though I could show up late, since it lasts an hour and a half). But it’s a mix of good and bad. It’s nice to be learning again. I think the main problem is getting used to starting a new life and meeting people that I’ll have little contact with after this.

8:30 pm – I’m tired as all heck now. That said, today was a good one. A tiring one, but it’s done a lot to help me. Met some nice people in Miyagi, including a bunch of people in Sendai. Unfortunately, I feel like Sendai is quite a ways away. I haven’t met anyone geographically close to me yet, but I’m sure that will change once I get out there.

Thoughts

So now I realize that Sendai isn’t that far away. But it took a long time to realize that. That’s all I have to say about that.

What're ya thinkin'?

