An Excuse

It's funny how serious people get when you dogeza in front of them.

It’s funny how serious people get when you dogeza in front of them.

言い訳

Because some words are better than none, right?

The Post That Ate Away At My Conscience

Sometimes things just get out of your hands. If I were better, I’d have backup posts ready for those times when I trip like this. But I don’t—I like to post things right as I write them.

Most of the time, anyways. Sometimes, however, writing a post gets out of hand. I’ll finish it and look back to see a smattering of ideas, loosely connected by routes only perceptible to those who know where to look. Like a weird kind of geocache that asks you to look at a passage and find where the meaning is hidden. I’d like to think my writing is generally readable, but I’ve always had issues with communication. Sometimes I say—in English or Japanese—something I feel is easily understandable only to be met with a blank stare and a “huh?”

Japan places the onus on the listener to understand the speaker, but I’ve never liked that approach. It assumes, in part, that the speaker is beyond reproach. Indeed, the opposite is true: those in the upper position have the responsibility to help others come to their position. If someone can’t understand you, you need to change what you’re saying.

But this post that sits unpublished wasn’t only poor for its organization. For those that could discern its meaning, the real mistake was in how political it got.

I don’t always have a clear idea on the purpose of this website or the purpose of any of my writing. Partly I wanted to make a website that I’d want to read (which is why not posting something for so long hurts so much, even when I can see everything I write), which means that it would primarily talk about life in Japan, Japanese, and video games, amongst other more specific topics. But while the purpose isn’t as clear as the water in my town’s rivers, I do know what doesn’t belong. And that’s anything that’s super political that doesn’t relate to Japan or Japanese or video games.

That’s not to say I don’t have confidence in expressing these ideas. It is to say that I should make another blog if that’s what I want to do.

But it took a bit of time to come to that realization. And I think I will go back and edit that post and eventually post it, but it’ll take a bit of work.

In Other News

The other reason for my slowness with posts is the fact that it’s summer vacation! Huh?

You see, in Japan, everyone works during the vacations. There’s not really any time off. In some ways, I’m working more now that there’re no kids here to distract other teachers from the real work. So they’ll come and ask for help with fun and interesting projects. I meant that sarcastically, but actually looking back on it, some of what I’ve done is actually pretty interesting. Helping with the summer camp was particularly fun.

So when the day is over, what do I do?

Work on my game.

My current major deadline is having the opening section of the game “playable” by the time I go back to America in 9 days for a two-week vacation. Playable means that the first few areas will be accessible and populated by NPCs. The opening cutscenes will be there, if not in the final form. The in-game dictionary, world map, and area completion elements of the game will not.

I’m happy to say the game is progressing well. I just wish this blog didn’t suffer for it.

Here are some screenshots of the new game as some kind of compensation:

Ideally this will be redone when someone can help with my cutscenes, but until that day, here's my first cutscene.

Ideally this will be redone when someone can help with my cutscenes, but until that day, here’s my first cutscene.

Oh, protagonists. :p

Oh, protagonists. :p

Late for class, as always...

Late for class, as always…

A semi-random encounter!

A semi-random encounter!

An English conversation battle!

An English conversation battle!

How will our hero respond!?

How will our hero respond!?

And of course, the world map, because how can this even be a game without a world map.

And of course, the world map, because how can this even be a game without a world map.

Okay, new post coming soon, I swear!

Cheers!

What're ya thinkin'?

